Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you need help urgently, please see our domestic violence webguide and/or relationships webguide, which can point you to expert advice and support.

How long should I wait - should I wait at all?

(20 Posts)
maybeanotherday Thu 16-Oct-14 11:05:18

This is my first time posting here, so I am not sure if this is the right place to get advice on this as I'm not married but I've seen lots of other amazingly helpful comments so I hope so... I have been with my boyfriend for just under a year, and while I love him he can't say it back, and isn't able to really commit - he cares deeply for me but isn't sure I'm 'the one' for him. I'm in my late 30s and he's early 40s and we both want children, so people keep telling me I need to leave him if he won't make his mind up. I don't know if I should call it a day now or if I should give him more time? He doesn't want to end things but also doesn't want to be unfair to me, so we have reached a point of nearly separating a few times only then to spend hours talking and coming back together again. I don't know what to do - I really do love him and at this age it's very hard to find that with someone as good and kind as him, so if I leave him I would probably try to have children on my own instead, which feels pretty scary too.

CMOTDibbler Thu 16-Oct-14 11:10:25

I think that irrespective of the question of children, if you've been in a relationship for a year and he won't tell you he loves you or commit to you, its time to get out as it won't get any better.

ImperialBlether Thu 16-Oct-14 11:16:13

You're right - he is a decent guy and he's telling you bluntly that he doesn't know whether you're the one for him. A less decent man might tell you he loves you and leave it a few years then dump you when you're at a point when you can't have children.

Listen to what he is saying.

AttilaTheMeerkat Thu 16-Oct-14 11:18:53