Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you need help urgently, please see our domestic violence webguide and/or relationships webguide, which can point you to expert advice and support.

Need to talk about my mum :(

(21 Posts)
RubyRain Sun 30-Mar-14 21:46:47

Sorry this is a repost from another board
As I need to talk to someone immediately and have no replies on other board. This is my first time posting in this section and I'm sorry if it's not appropriate but I need someone to talk to.

My mum died a few years ago. I was 18. Mum wasn't well, she had bipolar disorder, over dosed on her meds once, was in and out of mental health and ordinary hospitals, had arguments with dad etc. so we had a rocky relationship.

I am the youngest of 5 ( brothers and sisters much older than me) so by the time I was 12, all my siblings left home, my mum and dad split up and there was just me and mum at home. I felt so lost and, to be honest, abandoned. My mum said some horrible things to me, that at the time I didn't understand was due to her illness. And I was constantly passed from family member to family member (aunts, not siblings) when she had to go into hospital. As a teen a cut my wrists and self induced vomiting as a way of coping.

As a result I had a fucked up childhood and as an adult I suffer a whole host of physical and mental problems that I am unable to tell anyone about in rl. I feel a cocktail of sadness, pain, emptiness, anger and above all, guilt. I have lovely memories of my mum when I was around 4-8 years old. One that sticks out in my mind is putting a massive blanket down on the living room floor and watching the Sound of Music together.

Those times were wonderful and I cling onto them. I wish I had them back sad . Despite all the problems, she was still my mum and I miss her so much sad sad sad .