Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you need help urgently, please see our domestic violence webguide and/or relationships webguide, which can point you to expert advice and support.

Emotional abuse

(10 Posts)
sadmummy1 Mon 10-Mar-14 10:09:26

I've been reading past threads on this and some of the recommended books and am trying to understand more about it

Why does someone go from being so charming to emotionally abusive?

I've read bits about being the perpetrator being insecure, wanting power and control - but what I don't understand is why seek out someone to do that to, only to make an innocent person's life miserable and bring DC into a set up that is miserable?
Why would someone do that?

tallwivglasses Mon 10-Mar-14 10:22:26

I'm no expert but I think it's because they feel that having control over someone is their god-given right. Putting someone else down makes them feel better.

If you're trying to understand why someone has treated you like this, my advice would be to move on. Really, how will understanding why someone's being an arsehole help you? it certainly won't stop them being an arsehole. Surely any activity (plant some bulbs, read a book, make a cake) will be more productive than giving this person any more of your valuable time.

foolonthehill Mon 10-Mar-14 10:22:55

In my opinion I think you could see the "charming" period as part of the emotional abuse, the need to win you over and ensnare you...also believing that you will live up to their ideal image of "wife" or "woman" or whatever without actually dealing with the real person in front of them...extreme rose tinted glasses and an expectation that their needs will be met. The mask slips when their expectations are challenged.

foolonthehill Mon 10-Mar-14 10:27:50