Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you need help urgently, please see our domestic violence webguide and/or relationships webguide, which can point you to expert advice and support.

Feel like a right idiot...how to survive awkward grappling hug?

(22 Posts)
Licketysplit123 Mon 03-Mar-14 09:30:37

This is a bit of a silly one, so apologies if you read this and groan and want to just call me a schoolgirl and tell me to be on my way...

I've started online dating after I separated from my husband last year. I've never done it before or even dated before really.

I messaged a man who I really liked the look of. Contact was sketchy at first as he works abroad a lot of the time but when he got back, the messaging got quite intense and we met up. The date was brilliant, we were out chatting until all hours. There was a bit of a shy hug/kiss at the end.

After the date, we continued to text and arranged to meet up again on Saturday afternoon.

Again, the actual date went really well. But when we left it was really awkward. He went to hug me, but to be honest, he's a bit strong and I nearly fell over. I went to kiss his cheek and missed. Oh god it sounds so cringey - it was! I was so embarrassed I just sort of scarpered off.

I didn't hear from him that evening which I know is not a deal breaker it was just out of keeping with how things had been going. The next morning, I text him, asking him now his evening had gone and said I'd felt a bit awkward the day before as we had sort of rugby tackled and then i had run off. I was lighthearted about it and said I was waaaaaaay out of practice and I promise not to run off next time.

He replied hours later saying he had noticed my quick exit but made a joke of it. We started chatting again but it wasn't flirty like it usually is. We were joking about something and the last message he sent was just a smiley.

No mention of another date.