Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you need help urgently, please see our domestic violence webguide and/or relationships webguide, which can point you to expert advice and support.

Relationships make me act like a twat...

(5 Posts)
superstarheartbreaker Sat 18-May-13 22:43:22

But mabe I am one anyway! I'd love to have a healthy relationship but so far they make me behave like this;
Needy, controlling, scared of abandonment, clingy, overlooking major flaws such as drug abuse etc, paranoid about being controlled and abused etc, etc....
The good things they bring out are: the fact that I am a good cook and like cooking for people, the sex which I love, the banter , my affectionate side, I am happy and chilled when going well.
I do get moods but when I am with someon emy PMT actually has an outlet; my dp.
When I was younger I was involved in an abusive relationship that nearly killed me. Mabe I am too scared to be in a relationship again but I do feel like I am sabotaging one of life's pleasures.

puds11isNAUGHTYnotNAICE Sat 18-May-13 22:46:17

I self sabotage too. I can see myself doing it, but cannot control it.

Diagonally Sat 18-May-13 22:56:17

What's the longest time you have been on your own?

CogitoErgoSometimes Sun 19-May-13 07:13:48

So stay out of relationships for a while and work on your personal development, self-esteem and tackling your PMT symptoms. Don't be frightened to be your own woman rather than leaping into another desperate attempt to pair off. If you're a caring person cook, banter and be affectionate with friends .... have a healthy social circle so that, even when you are with someone again, you don't let them dominate your life.

HairyGrotter Sun 19-May-13 13:56:35