Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you need help urgently, please see our domestic violence webguide and/or relationships webguide, which can point you to expert advice and support.

My EA suspected narc punched me!

(33 Posts)
Narcmotherstrikesagain Thu 09-May-13 23:30:48

I don't know if I'm here asking for advice or offloading. Please forgive me rambling.

I am trying to figure out what to do next. I'm going to post this then tell the story. I'm just checking my NC has worked first. I'm not a prolific poster and tend to read rather than post in Rellies.

NotSuchASmugMarriedNow Thu 09-May-13 23:43:30

Are you ok? Are you hurt?

Narcmotherstrikesagain Fri 10-May-13 00:12:38

My mother gets drunk and has episodes.

I've always had a difficult relationship with her and especially over the last 5 or so years I struggle to enjoy her company, drunk or sober. She wants me to be close to her. Her friends of similar age are close to their daughters, go shopping, chat on the phone every day. I just can't. She's abusive to me when drunk, even when not that drunk. If she can't get to me she has a go with DH. Afterwards she's very apologetic and expects us to get over it and carry on as normal.

Anyway, she had a few wines with dinner last week at my house. I have a DH and 2 primary age kids. After dinner she started to leave to drive home. DH said you better stop her. So I invited her to stay. I don't enjoy her company but didn't want her drunk driving.

It was a busy evening because we were going on a short holiday the next day. DH, the kids and I, flights the following lunchtime. I still have the bulk of the packing to do and DH wanted a haircut.