Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you need help urgently, please see our domestic violence webguide and/or relationships webguide, which can point you to expert advice and support.

I want to leave but I need to find the courage.

(20 Posts)
IEM3 Wed 24-Apr-13 13:03:57

This is my first time here and I am in a state of flux. Married to OH 15 years, together 24, DDs x 3, (14, 12 and 5). I am in a really difficult situation. I don't love my husband any more. He has always been very controlling and selfish and always speaks so aggressively towards me. He is a bully. He gets very angry and I have just put up and shut up over the years cos I don't want him to get angry but now I don't think I can take it any more. He has been very ill and I have been his support and comfort through this but he also uses this as an excuse to behave anyway he likes. I have been looking after him and he is much better now, so I feel that this is perhaps the time when I could leave. My health has also suffered as a result of being in this marriage. It is just so hard to think that my youngest may not remember being in the family home. I realise that by divorcing, I mess up 5 peoples' lives. I keep going over scenarios in my head which doesn't help. I am also worried about the finances and whether to stay in the family home. My eldest DD does not get on well with him and is aware of the situation and supports us leaving. He controlls all the money. I work part-time, so only bring in a little. I have been offered a place to stay with a friend and I am seriously thinking of just going with the children and leaving a note! Sounds awful but I find it so difficult to talk to him. Everywhere I look, advice seems to be stay in the home. We have spoken and I have said I don't love him. He thinks we can work it out, said we should go to counselling but hasn't bothered to enquire further. Think he just said it cos thought it would be what I wan