Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you need help urgently, please see our domestic violence webguide and/or relationships webguide, which can point you to expert advice and support.

Should I be worried about DP's online gambling?

(10 Posts)
singmespanishtechno Sat 13-Apr-13 19:20:23

I've been with my DP for five years and lived together for 2. DP is generally very responsible although can be a bit scatty. He's very generous and this is OK because we both have good jobs. He never seems worried about money whereas I often am. Since I've met him he's been into online poker and I'm no expert but I think he is quite good at it as he's won quite a lot of money (seems to me anyway) over the years.

He recently took a break from playing but recently has been playing again. He usually plays every night and has the windows open on the computer all evening. This causes arguments as I always say I don't feel I get his full attention at any time. Ironically, if I play on my laptop on forums etc while watching a film he gets annoyed and says I'm not concentrating, but he always plays poker throughout films, tv shows or anything we do together. These online tournaments can last for hours, and we've cancelled plans before when he's been in a long tournament. He also sometimes ends up staying up until 2 or 3am on a night before work. So I am already coming from a place of frustration about this, although I never thought he had a gambling problem, because sometimes its other online games with no gambling element.