Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you need help urgently, please see our domestic violence webguide and/or relationships webguide, which can point you to expert advice and support.

How to make a move?!

(19 Posts)
DippyDoohDahDay Mon 08-Apr-13 20:51:18

Am single after divorce. Really fancy my parents neighbour...he is a single dad, works with his own landscape gardening company. Drives past and smiles and omg that smile!
Not sure he really knows I exist. Need to lose a few pounds, but still have something.. How do I take it forward without looking like a stalker?! I
Live in an apartment with my dcs, so cannot book him to trim my bush, so to speak! But he has that za za zing for me....

DippyDoohDahDay Mon 08-Apr-13 21:09:25

Bumping self

Concentrateonthegood Mon 08-Apr-13 21:15:04

I'm no expert but I would just try to engage him in light chit chat so he has a chance to get to know you and you him. Just be friendly and be yourself and good luck! X

CandlestickOlder Mon 08-Apr-13 21:17:49

Pop round when you're at your parents? But you need an excuse... Erm too much cake and you wondered if he and DC would like some? I'd just brazenly ask him out for a drink. 'I know this is a bit forward but do you fancy a drink on monday night?' or something. He'll be flattered and jump at it i'm sure. Nothing to lose!!!

CandlestickOlder Mon 08-Apr-13 21:18:34

Or ask one day if his DCs fancy coming over to play with your DCs?

DippyDoohDahDay Mon 08-Apr-13 21:21:18

They are good suggestions but he lives about seven doors away so the cup of sugar/spare cake excuses might look too far fetched?!

ohtobecleo Mon 08-Apr-13 21:22:06

I'm with the 'play date' for the kids. Relaxed environment for all to get to know each other. He might not be as great as you think when you actually speak to him ;)

DippyDoohDahDay Mon 08-Apr-13 21:30:36