Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you need help urgently, please see our domestic violence webguide and/or relationships webguide, which can point you to expert advice and support.

Financial struggles affecting relationship, what to do?

(7 Posts)
robotpenguin Tue 02-Apr-13 09:46:22

Hi all - sorry if this is a bit garbled but I think writing it down is very theraputic in itself - but I know there are some wonderful supportive people on here and I guess I just need a pat on my head and sending on my way as much as anything else!!

Around a year ago I moved in with DP, we found a rented property in his home town. We are both early 30s to set the scene!
I am self employed -a bt of a niche job but basically (and without outing myself) I am a professional sportsperson and I earn some money to fund this by coaching for clubs etc. Its for the love and not the money clearly, but its who I am and what I do,have always done.

This winter has been the hardest I have known and it has impacted terrificially on my finances, literally been unable to find income through my coaching etc as there literally is none when the weather is prohibitive - its always harder in winter as no one wants to be outside getting cold etc!

Unfortunately, I've reached a horrible point where I have no disposible income left to pay bills, rent etc, I had healthy accounts and savings last year but this winter has been so hard, with several unexpected large bills for other unavoidable things, I literally have not a penny. Income has always fluctuated seasonally, I know it will pick up in the summer but at the moment I am at crisis point.