Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you need help urgently, please see our domestic violence webguide and/or relationships webguide, which can point you to expert advice and support.

My marriage is a sham. I'm new. Would love some advice [long] :-(

(87 Posts)
LouDecember1 Sat 15-Dec-12 22:00:27

Dear all
I’m new to Mumsnet (pls be nice!) and feel a bit guilty that I’ve joined purely to glean a bit of ‘party opinion’. I’m in a very turbulent and difficult marriage that’s teetering on the edge and could do with a bit of unbiased opinion and advice. We relocated a while ago so I currently live away from my network of close friends – though in any case, I’m hugely private and would probably struggle to share this kind of info anyway (a lot of people assume we have the perfect marriage in fact). This is long (I’ll try and paraphrase etc) and may take a while to read through. So thank you in advance to those who spend time on it.
We’ve been married for 12 years and have four kids. We’re still a reasonably young 30 / 40 smthg, both considered attractive. As with many couples with young kids (ours are still all under 10) life can be a strain both physically and financially (permanently tired for one thing!) but on the whole we are a lot luckier than many.