Facebook keeps every image and a record of everything you've done. Often, if you try to delete a photo you've uploaded it will show as deleted in your account, but everyone who commented on it or 'liked' it will still be able to see it.
There is a reason Facebook have been taken to court so often by governments. They are evil and people willingly hand over all their information and let Facebook track their every movement online. They assume that no company would be allowed to do the things they get away with. But they do, and they are.
Google are almost the same. Ever wondered why some ads you see on websites just happen to match what you were searching for on Google a couple of hours ago? Google run the ads for millions of sites and follow you around.
Thank you thats a good idea but he has so many friends on it, wouldn't that then all go to their account and they would have some random weirdo as a friend .....? I can not believe with what he has been through that it is impossible to take a page down, bloomin technology!! thweank you all for taking the time tor respond.
There seems to be some confusion here about two different process. You can deactivate a FB account and you can also delete one. Deactivate leaves it in limbo, pending you coming back again. Deletion is a lengthier process that involves you sending a form to FB (found on the FB pages, so you have to login to your account to do so). Deletion is permanent. It sounds as if you deactivated your son's account rather than deleted it.
If your son wants an account when he's older he will be able to get another but would have to register it to another email address, not the one he used for the account he has now. Hopefully this link will clarify for you www.facebook.com/help/359046244166395/
Thanks for your help and advice, I am not logging in and nor is he but if i search for his name on facebook his page comes up. The bullying stuff has disappeared but i want the whole page gone so as not to tempt the nasty little rats back.
It is very difficult to permanently delete facebook. If you log back in, the deletion is cancelled. In theory, after a period of not logging in, the account will be deleted, but I've got an old account that will activate when I log in, five years after I first deleted it.
So you need to find out who is logging in.
How old is your son? If under 13, message Facebook from the site and ask them to delete it. If over 13, you can still ask them, they may do it. They'll probably have expected you to report the bullies using the facebook tools though, so if you didn't they may be slower in helping.
I need some help, if i have posted this in the wrong place apologies .... I'm new to it all! My DS suffered some v bad online bullying last year through Facebook, as soon as we found out we deactivated and deleted his account but the bloomin thing keeps coming back .... we pressed the 'permanently delet' button but a couple of months later it reappears. Does anyone know how we can get rid of forever. It was awful awful awful and it seems to haunt us by coming back. Luckily DS doesnt know as he never looks but i check regularly ....