Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you need help urgently, please see our domestic violence webguide and/or relationships webguide, which can point you to expert advice and support.

An Abrupt Boss - help needed

(4 Posts)
Wecanfixit Sat 10-Nov-12 06:38:56

Hi I work in an all female team have just moved to this new team 4 months ago , but being doing same job for 18 years, I find that one of my immediate bosses is very abrupt with me and no-one else , I have tried to bend over backwards to
be helpful and conscientous, things seemed to have improved for a bit, now they have taken a backwards step,she umdermines me at every turn , the job is full on and can be stressful for us all, she has limited experience in this field where as I have 20 years experience , do not know how to make the situation better but it is getting me down and my other colleagues have noticed this too, one problem she is the bosses best friend ! so I feel I can not say anything or make waves.

BeTheBestYouCanBe Sat 10-Nov-12 10:13:22

She probably feels intimidated to the fact you have 20 years experience. If it was me in this situation then I would take her in to a meeting room and have a quiet word with her asking if you have done anything to upset her and state the reasons why you think this. I am not sure what the culture at your company is like but I have had to do this in the past with a work colleague and also a previous boss and it soon sorted them out as they were not expecting it. There is no need to be nasty just very direct and to the point in a polite friendly way. If you try to ignore the problem then she will probably continue to be like this throughout the rest of your employment.
Never mind that she is the bosses best friend, she needs to sort her act out and you deserve better and should be treated with the respect you had before this silly woman turned up.

Concentrateonthegood Sat 10-Nov-12 10:49:32