Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you need help urgently, please see our domestic violence webguide and/or relationships webguide, which can point you to expert advice and support.

It's happening all over again!

(17 Posts)
sadsong Tue 06-Nov-12 08:45:04

Following on from my light hearted chat late last night in chat, the reality has hit me this morning. First marriage divorced on grounds of unreasonable behaviour, abusive, controlling, it wasn't good. I left taking dc with me. That followed by a long gap of living on my own with dc happily, although I did have another abusive relationship during that time but we never lived together, thank god. I've now remarried. Last night went horribly wrong. So we were arguing and I slammed the door shut after dh walked through it, as he was being very confrontational and I'm not good at that. While slamming the door behind him I dropped a cup so bent down to pick it up, he swung the door open into the side of my head, very hard. Instead of going omg I'm sorry I know we were arguing but I didn't mean to do that, he told me to stop crying as I was milking it. The door didn't even touch me. I burst into tears on impact. It was excruciating. Because it's in my hairline I agree there's nothing much to show for it, except a bump. But it hurts like hell. A barrage of abuse followed I hit him back I'm afraid. My whole life flashed before me and I flipped out entirely. Im the common denominator in all these 3 failed relationships. And it's happening all over again isn't it.

I went downstairs and he came down later, not to apologise but to accuse me of more. He said I contemplated opening the knife drawer. I definitely didn't. I wouldn't. I know I hit him and I shouldn't have but his joy at seeing me in pain was just horrible. It didn't even cross my mind about a knife. He's twisting it isn't he? I'm now so confused and he said it's all my own fault.