Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you need help urgently, please see our domestic violence webguide and/or relationships webguide, which can point you to expert advice and support.

Family coming to stay (strained relationship), I need some help to cope (pls be gentle)

(13 Posts)
CobOnTheCorn Thu 13-Oct-11 13:51:47

I'm fairly new to mumsnet and although this may sound trivial, I'd really like some words of wisdom/support. I wasn't a very happy child, mainly due to the relationship with my mother. I'm not an unhappy adult but I have low periods and outstanding 'stuff' I'd like to deal with...one day. So overall my relationship with my family isn't great, especially with my mum.

A few months ago my mum said she will come to visit me and dc in October, she visited in Feb just after ds2 was born and it was ok. This time she asked if she can bring my dn (9yrs), I had some reservations (there is a back story about dn's behaviour but it isn't really her fault) but I said yes because she is a nice girl and it will be good for her to spend time with her cousins.

Everything with my mum is left until the last minute so although she had mentioned she would be visiting during half term we didn't know when and for how long until Monday when she sent me a text saying she had booked her train tickets. A few minutes later my sister sent a text to say she had also booked a ticket ("I hope you don't mind"!). This has sent me in to a bit of a spin. I know some people take things like this in their stride and I also know there are more serious issues in teh world BUT I'm already flapping about where they will all sleep, how much mess and noise they will all make and I'm already feeling the pressure of three extra mouths to feed. They are staying for two nights so I know I can bear it but it'll be hard work.