Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you need help urgently, please see our domestic violence webguide and/or relationships webguide, which can point you to expert advice and support.

Advice please: supporting someone attacked in the past

(17 Posts)
pombear Tue 20-Sep-11 22:35:09

Lovely community of Mumsnet: I have been part of Mumsnet for so many years, sometimes laughing, sometimes crying, sometimes raising an eyebrow, and learning from you all at some time. I am a habitual lurker, have never needed to start a post, so please be gentle.

I'm not sure whether this is the right place to ask this question, but it seems from history that many people on here may be able to give some advice. Please let me know if I need to move it to another topic.

Someone today confided in me that a recent event where they were at risk of being raped has triggered off memories of an attack when she was at university.

I have no experience of this, but know of so many threads where people have posted advice on where to get support on this but I'm not sure what to put in 'search' to find them.

From talking to her, the attack at university she has worked at 'putting it aside' and 'getting on with her life' - advice she received at the time from the close relative that she confided in.

I know from reading so many posts over the years that this was likely to not be the right advice, and is likely to have led to the feelings she's experiencing now, with regards to trust, her own self esteem and other issues.