Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you need help urgently, please see our domestic violence webguide and/or relationships webguide, which can point you to expert advice and support.

How do you make a decision about a relationship?

(12 Posts)
NessCathy Mon 12-Sep-11 14:40:04

I've got a decision to make, but rather than sharing the details, (I'm not confident I could write the predicament in such a way that wouldn't bias your opinions) I wondered if I could ask how you make decisions when it comes to relationships? What are your key principles? Do you go with head or heart?

(PS, I realise this might sound like I'm a journalist trying to get an article written, please believe me, I'm not)

HairyGrotter Mon 12-Sep-11 14:55:01

I'm in the process of ending a relationship, I feel I've made the decision with my heart and head, both in balance. I've weighted up the pros and cons, thought about the future, compatibility, and the chances of it's survival.

If all of these things don't 'add' up, and I feel uncomfortable, the relationship ends. Which is happening right now, upsetting but right.

Good luck

ItsMeAndMyPuppyNow Mon 12-Sep-11 14:57:21

I know that in the future, any prospective new relationship is going to be displayed to the MN Relationships board to see if it passes muster! wink

A thousand twat radars will be able to set me right if mine goes wrong.

NessCathy Mon 12-Sep-11 15:10:54

It's a horrible feeling. I'm having to decide to end something that is good, but has its problems, and to decide whether we're losing something special or not. Terrible because if we split, I know I'll miss him

paranoidandroidwreckmyownlife Mon 12-Sep-11 15:15:38

If you want an honest opinion, details always help. Not easy, but tell it as it is. You may find that once it's down in print you'll know the answers yourself.

NessCathy Mon 12-Sep-11 15:46:59