Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you need help urgently, please see our domestic violence webguide and/or relationships webguide, which can point you to expert advice and support.

What are the grounds for unreasonable behaviour?

(20 Posts)
backtothedrawingboard Fri 02-Sep-11 12:28:11

Please could anyone give me examples of what they have cited in terms of unreasonable behaviour.

My solicitor has suggested it as an option if H won't agree to a separation agreement which would entail him moving of the family home voluntarily. I don't think he will agree so may have to petition for divorce.

mumblechum1 Fri 02-Sep-11 12:38:38

Hi, I'm a family lawyer and in the twenty odd years I've been practising I've issued petitions on everything from a husband who didn't pick up his socks (is there any other kind?) to one who attacked his wife with a claw hammer and puther in a coma for three weeks, and everything in between.

The court doesn't really care whose fault it is that the marriage has broken down, and usually it's down to both parties anyway.

Typically, you'll be expected to state the general background, eg saying that your husband drinks to excess/shouts at you/is secretive/wastes money/is mean with money, or whatever your main complaint is, then specify maybe 6 or 7 incidents to illustrate that behaviour.

so you may be saying that your dh is very unsociable and notinterested in spending time with you and the children because he's a workaholic or a golf fanatic. So you say that, then come up with 4 incidents in the last year where you've asked him to go on a day out with you and the children and he's refused, going to play golf with his friends instead.