Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you need help urgently, please see our domestic violence webguide and/or relationships webguide, which can point you to expert advice and support.

Not sure where to put this..... BDSM interest... need female advice I think.

(23 Posts)
nervousnewbie Sat 02-Jul-11 11:25:43

Okay! I am NOT in fact a newbie here but am namechanging as I feel very self conscious about this.

I have had an interest in mild BDSM for a long time and have never been able to come to terms with it. It's at odds with everything about me (am very in control and sure of myself) and also at odds with everything I have stood for and learned in life.

Four years ago I separated with my husband - we remain on good terms but our marriage is dead - he lives 170 miles away from me and DS.

Recently I went into counselling and the counsellor asked if I was dating. I said No and he asked "why not"? Fair point - why not indeed?. Well self esteem is shite for a start, don't like myself in the mirror although I know some things I can change.

Anyhow I started thinking a bit more about things and I know if I do date again I need to find someone who accepts my kinky side too. I registered some years ago on a BDSM site but rarely posted there, just read messages and personals now and then.

Anyhow I was brave and have posted a personal ad explaining what I was looking for (ie - not a none night stand but an ongoing relationship) and had loads of responses. Some were quite frank in what they wanted to "do" to me hmm but some were thoughtful and interesting.