Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you need help urgently, please see our domestic violence webguide and/or relationships webguide, which can point you to expert advice and support.

Stay or Go - Horrendous decision to make

(43 Posts)
LubyLu2000 Tue 21-Jun-11 10:28:46

Hi

I'm new to mumsnet so please be kind to me;)

Basically I have been with DP for 7 years and we have a 5yr old son. I moved abroad to live with him(he's southern european). If I'm being honest from the start the relationship wasn't great and I knew in the back of my head that he wasn't the man for me. Just as we were considering splitting I fell pregnant. At that point I buried all thoughts of leaving him and got on with things. It's been a rollercoaster ride - some awful horrible arguments and other times okay. At times I've even been quite happy cos I've had other distracting things to keep me going.

My life is really quite lonely and boring though. I have 1 friend that I see every couple of weeks but apart from that I'm on my own or with DS. We have little/no social life at the evenings or weekends so I spend most of my time on the computer or watching TV (separate from DP cos I hate TV here!).

I know that we're not right for each other but I do care about him and it would be upsetting and I would miss certain things. I can't really attribute blame here - he's a good person but we're just incompatible.

But how can I split up with him? If I go I really have to go back to the UK cos living here on my own would actually be worse than staying with him, which means splitting up father and son. Much as I can try and kid myself that they'll see each other as much as I can bring DS over - maybe even every couple of months - and I'll make sure they talk every night on Skype I can't even begin to kid myself that it's the same as being close by or in the same town.