Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Note: This topic is for discussing pushchairs. If you want to buy and sell pushchairs, please use our For Sale/Wanted boards. Please feel free to report buying and selling in this topic. Thanks, MNHQ

Cleaning Pushchair Wheels

(12 Posts)
mommytwo Thu 05-Oct-17 18:33:22

Hi all,

Newbie here. Looking forward to learning and sharing thoughts. Would appreciate help/ suggestions with my problem, which is...

I love going for walks with my 15 month old, but I HATE coming home with a ton of dirt on my pushchair wheels. Our flat is carpeted and I come home bringing germs and muck and dirt and also end up dirtying my carpet. I've tried wiping the wheels with a wipe but its too time consuming and when my little one is asleep the last thing I want to do is disturb him by lifting the pushchair to clean the wheels. I don't know if its a clean freak thing but with my son crawling in the same path I've wheeled my stroller icks me out!

How does everyone manage with the dirt a stroller's wheels bring in? Please help x

GlitteryFluff Thu 05-Oct-17 18:38:02

Hose it down in garden? Store in car boot / shed instead of bringing into house?
Carrier bags tied over wheels? Large mat on floor by front door and keep buggy on that?
Rough wire brush to brush over the wheels to removed chunky dirt?

Migraleve Thu 05-Oct-17 18:38:55

I just used to pour hot water from a jug or flask over them

cafeaulaitpourvous Thu 05-Oct-17 18:40:44

I have a phil and teds

Shower caps!!!!

mommytwo Thu 05-Oct-17 19:04:39

Thanks everyone. We don't have an outdoor space and pouring water over them would unfortunately ruin my carpet. The shower caps don't stay over double wheels sad
I think my best option is just putting a mat out. I used to do that, but it looks so ugly at the entrance and it was always in the way! Plus my son thought the mat was his new play mat!

Migraleve Thu 05-Oct-17 19:09:39