Talk

Advanced search

Kitchen floors

(22 Posts)
geogteach Thu 20-Aug-09 08:53:21

I am not very good at decisions and with a new kitchen being done they are coming thick and fast. We have chosen white units and a dark worktop, now i need to decide on the floor. The room is huge so cost is a consideration. Pretty sure tiles are out as I know we would drop stuff on them. The room includes a sitting and dining area, so what is practical for this sort of space, what would look good and is not going to break the bank?

GrendelsMum Thu 20-Aug-09 10:10:45

Bamboo! Very practical, easy to clean, good value and it looks stunning. It comes in either light or dark, and either wide stripes upwards or thin stripes upwards.

Chevre Thu 20-Aug-09 10:12:06

marmoleum - expensive but lovely to walk on

GrendelsMum Thu 20-Aug-09 10:20:45

I wanted marmoleum for my kitchen but DH for some reason took against it. It's also very warm and practical.

Pannacotta Thu 20-Aug-09 14:14:01

I also think Marmoleum is good, easy to clean, soft and nice surface for bare feet.

Bamboo is a good suggestion, would it go ok with your worktop?

FuckOffDailyMail Thu 20-Aug-09 14:20:03

Have you looked at Karndean and Amtico flooring?

Roomfor2 Thu 20-Aug-09 14:25:31

Why does dropping stuff mean tiles are out of the question? We've got slate-style tiles. Cheap as chips, hard wearing, they don't show the dirt or dust because they are deliberately slightly uneven and non-shiny (also means they are non-slip). And we've dropped jars on them and they haven't broken (well, the jars did, but not the tiles!)

If they are laid properly, they will be fully supported from underneath. They would only break if there were weak, unsupported places.

FYI, ours look lovely and we have a dark grout so not even that shows the dirt. I also think slate grey looks lovely with white and wood.