Talk

Advanced search

Tenants' damages - guideline of costs?

(25 Posts)
min912 Mon 21-Jul-08 21:26:17

Hi, can anyone help as I'm new to this... we rent out our old house and the tenants have just moved out. They lived like pigs essentially so we had to pay for professional cleaning and gardening - I know we can charge them for this against the deposit.

However there was a fair amount of minor damage like scuff marks on the walls, dents in the walls (both reparable with fresh paint) and then also things like burn marks in the carpet (not reparable). Although the deposit is held by the letting agent the property is managed by ourselves so they say they won't help anymore in the negotiations over costs and although they have a guideline of costs they won't give us a copy!

What I basically want to know is how much to charge for things like this? For wall damage I guess I can go with an hourly rate for repairs, but what about the carpet? I can't charge them the full amount, but what is considered 'normal'?

Can anyone tell me what they have charged/ been charged?

Many thanks

OldLadyKnowsNothing Tue 22-Jul-08 00:44:01

I've never been charged for cleaning after leaving a rental property (on account of I leave it cleaner than when I lived there grin) but IMHO a great deal of what you're calling "damage" is "fair wear and tear" (your scuff marks etc) and you can discount the cost of repair from your tax bill.

But you can't charge your tenants for it. That's why they pay rent.

As for your carpet, I guess it depends on the size and location of the burns - can they easily be covered with a rug? Was it brand new when your tenants moved in? How much will it cost to replace (if necessary)?

alipiggie Tue 22-Jul-08 05:01:19