Talk

Advanced search

Living in / near Stratford-upon-Avon

(3 Posts)
Josey22 Fri 02-Oct-20 02:12:42

Hello, I'm new to Mumsnet. It's nice to meet you all. :-) I'm a British citizen moving back to the UK from California with my American husband and our 3.5 year old daughter. We're looking for a place to live near Stratford-upon-Avon, where we'll both be working. I know the area fairly well because my family lives there, but I'm looking for recommendations on areas to rent / primary schools / settling into the community, since we haven't lived in the UK for 11 years. We like to be able to walk to things, but we also need some outdoor space and quiet. Looking at Wilmcote / Tiddington / Stratford-on-Avon but open to any of the villages that have a store/ pub/ post office and good transport links. We've been living in the suburbs of N. California and are weary of driving everywhere for long distances on bad roads. It would be great to walk to things a lot, although we will have a car. Our daughter hasn't started school yet but I don't know a lot about preschools / primary schools in the area, beyond what I've researched online (any opinions on Bridgetown, Shottery or Wilmcote primary schools?). We're also a bit worried about being able to make friends and settle into the community. Any suggestions or opinions would be really helpful. Thanks for your help in advance! :-)

OP’s posts: |
LaNouba Sat 03-Oct-20 17:15:37

Hi, We moved to Stratford in 2014 and so happy we did. My children attend Alveston primary school which is in Tiddington and we’re so far very impressed. It’s half the size of Bridgetown so feels much more like a village school. Wilmcote and Shottery are smaller again and I’ve heard great things about them too! Wilmcote is further out so not an easy walk in to town if you’re planning on living near the school.