Security doorbells - brand advice...

(17 Posts)
Freeamigos Thu 13-Aug-20 17:56:03

Are ring the best on the market? If so what packages do folk recommend? Or are there any other alternative lesser known brands out that are more competitive or have better features?

Thanks!

OP’s posts: |
PigletJohn Thu 13-Aug-20 22:20:40

I have no particular knowledge in this field, but "Ring" is a marketing organisation that sells electrical gadgets into the budget end of the market.

I would be very surprised if anything they sell could ever be described as "the best."

"The cheapest," maybe.

Is your question more about security cameras than doorbells?

Muppetry76 Fri 14-Aug-20 12:56:04

Look into annual fees as well

houseofrabbits Fri 14-Aug-20 13:36:57

Ring is associated with Amazon so works with Alexa. Nest is associated with Google so works with all the google devices. We have a Nest doorbell because we are a google household!

houseofrabbits Fri 14-Aug-20 13:38:04

Just to add, we opted not to pay any annual fees. I'm not sure if there was that option with Ring.

JellyBellies Fri 14-Aug-20 13:46:56

We have a ring doorbell because we are an alexa household! I don't thinks it's meant to be a security doorbell.

Ring do security cameras that I have considered but the ring doorbell is not a security device, its more for convenience.

PigletJohn Fri 14-Aug-20 20:12:34

for some reason, doorphones and video entry systems are often made by Italian companies. mine is. i don't currently have a video entry but like the idea of one that displays at the controlling doorphone and is not working over the 'net.

Spying on insecure webcams and the like is rife.

Advertisement

Freeamigos Fri 14-Aug-20 20:38:28