Talk

Advanced search

How do you decide what to do first when you move into a new home?

(7 Posts)
Honey1975 Sun 03-Dec-17 17:10:31

We've recently moved to a bigger house and although we're loving having the extra space, I keep seeing things that need doing & can't decide what to do first.

There is nothing major that needs doing but it is quite tired looking so could do with a paint throughout. We need curtains and furnishings which I'm desperate for as it feels quite cold so am thinking these might make it feel warmer & cosier. But I don't know what furnishings to buy as if we decorate they then might not go.

There are loads of little jobs that need doing too, hooks & shelves down & up in various places, door handles replacing, torn lino floor needs sorting etc.

I'm not very good at prioritisng and think oh i'll do this now and then see something else that needs doing. I am very good at leaving a trail of destruction behind me!

Both dh & I work, we have two youngish dc's and weekends are often busy.

Just wondered if anyone had been through similar and could give advice on how you planned and prioritised things?

Smoochyschmoo Sun 03-Dec-17 17:47:17

No advice but I’m wondering the same when we move next month, I’m going with the idea of completing one room at a time, rather than a bit here and there. Living room is going to be priority as most time spent in there, and the carpet is horrendous... but once we’ve paid to get all that sorted I’m not sure when we can get the rest done - eeek!

thethoughtfox Sun 03-Dec-17 17:57:18

We are planning a room at a time and have just just done one downstairs room and it finally feels like home.

Cathster Sun 03-Dec-17 17:59:15

Don't do what we did, which was rush to decorate everything and regret our choices a year later!