Talk

Advanced search

Help please- DH has cold feet about extension

(13 Posts)
plus3 Fri 03-Nov-17 20:52:20

Can anyone point me in the direction of a good website that will talk us (as complete novices) through a building project?
We have plans,building permission and building regulations all done, but have stalled at finding a builder & getting quotes.I finally got a reason out of DH as to why we aren't moving forward...he just feels totally out of his depth. He is a perfectionist who procrastinates when not sure about something.
Any advice gratefully received.
Thanks

plus3 Fri 03-Nov-17 22:06:44

Anyone?

northlondonlassie Fri 03-Nov-17 22:31:22

Is there slack in your budget to pay someone to manage the project for you?

OneMoreTune Fri 03-Nov-17 22:35:27

Google some local builders and ask around for recommendations. Check reviews etc. Ask them to quote, probably you need 3-4 quotes for comparison.

Once you’ve had a quote and chat with various builders, you’ll feel on firmer ground. You don’t have to appoint anyone. You can just get quotes in and see how you feel after that.

plus3 Fri 03-Nov-17 22:43:36

Thanks for the replies - I wish! I would love a project manager, definitely not in the budget....I think this is such a steep learning curve - we are not the most proactive of couples.
I think the quotes are the thing that will make it most real. I just need to make it not seem so daunting to DH. We have got a local recommendation - so maybe we should start just asking.

OneMoreTune Sat 04-Nov-17 00:16:23

Just ring them up on Monday and arrange a time for them to come round, discuss your plans and look at the house. Don’t worry about the actual carrying out of said works just yet. One step at a time (and get more than one quote in just so you are psychologically, as much as practically, not reliant on this one particular builder).

tralaaa Sat 04-Nov-17 05:16:18