Talk

Advanced search

Wet patch on bedroom and bathroom ceiling. Help!!

(17 Posts)
Robhard91 Tue 19-Sep-17 20:01:49

Hello, I'm new to this so apologies if I've posted in the wrong section.

My girlfriend and I have recently moved into our own property and this morning we woke up to a wet patch on the ceiling of the bathroom and bedroom. I've checked in the loft and there are no pipes to cause a leak. Also we don't have a water tank in the loft. We do however have a bathroom extractor which runs through the ceiling of the bathroom out the vented roof tile.

I went up into the loft and the fibreglass beneath the vent is wet to touch as is underneath. Could this have been caused by condensation or am I missing something. Please help!

I've attached some pictures.

Many thanks.

Robhard91 Tue 19-Sep-17 20:03:21

More pictures. The house has had a new roof recently too so I don't think the roof is leaking.

wowfudge Tue 19-Sep-17 20:16:44

I think one of three things is happening- 1. there is a split in the vent hose and condensation is leaking out; or 2. the eaves are blocked with the insulation and you're getting a cold spot round the hose so condensation is forming in that area; or 3. the vent hose is just dumping moisture onto the insulation instead of venting to the eaves or through a special tile in the roof and it's seeping through.

wowfudge Tue 19-Sep-17 20:18:31

Missed that you have a vented roof tile - is the hose properly connected?

Robhard91 Tue 19-Sep-17 20:33:17

Thanks fudge. I'm pretty sure it's connected properly, should I disconnect the hose to see if it has any holes and should it be wrapped in insulation? I don't have a clue when it comes to this sort of stuff.

wowfudge Tue 19-Sep-17 20:41:14