Talk

Advanced search

First time buyers - what questions should I be asking my solicitor

(20 Posts)
user1497207858 Sun 11-Jun-17 20:11:32

We have just brought our first home (yay!) we put an offer down on the property a couple of weeks ago, but I'm a little confused what to do next.

So far we have appointed a solicitor and a broker to arrange our mortgage.

The valuation has been completed for our mortgage....but what's next?

All I've heard from our solicitors is to say they've returned our ID and taken copies for their file.

I want to chase both parties but not initially sure what I'm asking?

I know the solicitors will be completing searches etc, do you get those results?

How often should I be chasing? Should I be chasing the estate agents for anything?

Sorry if these questions seem a bit simple but as it's my first time doing this I'm not really sure what I'm doing.

Hs2Issue Sun 11-Jun-17 20:40:32

The sellers should be competing their fixtures and fittings list etc. So that their solicitor can draw up the contract for your solicitor to review and see if there are any questions arising from it. Searches are usually done after this. Do you know if you are in a long chain? As this will affect the speed the sale progresses at.

Blankscreen Sun 11-Jun-17 21:00:20

Your solicitor will want money on account to cover the searches. If you've not paid that yet then get that sorted asap.

user1497207858 Sun 11-Jun-17 21:07:41

Yes we have paid the fee for the searches.

We are not in a chain as we are first time buyers and the seller is moving into rented accommodation.

Is it too much to call the solicitors once a week?

AyeAyeFishyPie Sun 11-Jun-17 21:09:12

Have you had a survey done?

LIZS Sun 11-Jun-17 21:17:10