Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

First time buyer in London

(29 Posts)
LemonDrizzle26 Thu 11-May-17 23:08:07

Hi!

I'm looking to buy a two bed flat in London (probably SW), and budget is around 500k with possibly of going a bit higher if it would be advantageous. Ideally I'm looking for something that would increase in value but also that is already a nice place to live. I

'm currently in Earlsfield and love it. Zone 2/3 suits me well, and near public transport. As a single woman I'd like to live somewhere where I'd feel safe walking home at night. No DC yet and will be renting out the spare room. Looking at Southfields, Battersea, possibly Tooting, Earlsfield and all surrounding areas.

Anyone have any experience or things to look out for please? I'm very new to this and worried about making a mistake!! smile thanks!

allthesinglelaydez Thu 11-May-17 23:11:08

No idea on London but bloody hell, well done for being a FTB going for a half a mill place shock

QueenMortificado Thu 11-May-17 23:11:49

That is an incredibly healthy budget for a 2 bed flat! Lucky you!

I'd say the areas you've listed are good. I'd move away from tooting towards Balham and also look at Clapham too.

However, I personally think in those areas the prices can only climb so high so if I were you I'd look more east - new cross, forest hill, brockley etc. You could possibly get a 2 bed house for your budget there I think, otherwise a beautiful Victorian flat.

Also Crystal Palace is gorgeous too!

My other advice is just to go and look at literally everything. Ask loads of questions. Make sure you know what the energy rating of the property is and try not to be pulled by anything below a C (heating costs will be murderous otherwise).

Have you got a decision in principle for your mortgage? I'd recommend london and country if not - they're a fee free independent mortgage broker and are so easy to use.

Good luck! Exciting times ahead!

QueenMortificado Thu 11-May-17 23:12:25