Talk

Advanced search

First time buyer total newb... and complicated

(26 Posts)
Chukkab Tue 18-Apr-17 21:09:48

Hi all,
DH recently came into some money. He earns around 50k a year and I earn about 10.
We want to get our first house, but there are a few issues... firstlyq, we have about 15k of debt. I know ideally we'd pay this off first, but we need a home, DH is mid 40's, we have a baby, we already live in a one bed flat. Our plan is to have the debt in my name not his and have him buy the house in just his name and income. Is that possible? We are married but have never had a joint financial product.

Secondly, what are the chances of 5% deposits as an actual reality? Can we get one or do we need 10% min?

Lastly, how much, generally, could he borrow on what he earns? I find wildly differing amounts online!

Thanks all

Maggy74653 Tue 18-Apr-17 23:20:17

I definitely would not transfer all the debt into your name and take the mortgage out in just his name. That puts you in an incredibly risky position in the future if you were ever to separate.

The best thing I can advise is go through a mortgage broker. We did with our latest purchase and it was so simple. They will be able to tell you exactly what you can get and they take all the hard work away from the mortgage side of things (as long as you have a good one.)

Pradaqueen Wed 19-Apr-17 02:28:01

Definitely no to having the debt in your name and no name on the house!

Harumff Wed 19-Apr-17 07:03:39

You probably want to speak to a broker but to give you an idea why don't you do one of those affordability checkers with a mortgage provider online (e.g. we just got a good deal with Tesco bank and it started with me looking at it online). They will just ask your income (second what others said about keeping it joint) and will ask about debt and other outgoings and tell you how much you can borrow as well as deposit needed. Then you could take this to a broker and ask them to beat it.