Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Please critique this kitchen plan

(52 Posts)
NamedyChangedy Sat 21-Jan-17 12:11:35

Hints and tips would be great - this is my first project of this size and I don't want to make the wrong decision...

We have a skinny Victorian house and are planning to knock through into the side return to make a wider kitchen. We'll need planning permission because of the length.

We can fit a dining table in there now but it's a squeeze. I'd like to be able to get a sofa in there too, so we can all use the room as a family (2 DCs, 6 & 4).

The architects have come back with an initial drawing but I'm finding them rather uncommmunicative. Perhaps someone with experience of living in a similar layout can tell me if this makes sense.

My main questions are:
- Is there any point having two entryways into the kitchen? Will it make the whole of the downstairs harder to heat? (The thinking was that blocking up the right-hand doorway would make the middle reception room quite dark.
- Is there enough space left on the lefthand entry way so you don't have to turn sideways to get into the kitchen? Especially when the cupboard doors are open...?
- Is this the best configuration of dining table and sofa?
- Will we have enough kitchen cupboards?

I'm trying to imagine how we'll use the space - DCs playing or doing homework, us cooking / having friends over for lunch. But I'm not sure that I'm imaginative enough for this. Is it better to have had the kitchen fully designed before I finalise the structural stuff?

This is my first time posting pics so let's see if this works...

7to25 Sat 21-Jan-17 12:22:13

Why do you need the sofa in the kitchen if you adjoin a living room?

NamedyChangedy Sat 21-Jan-17 12:26:54

At the moment whoever's cooking is kind of banished to the kitchen on their own so we thought it would be good for everyone to be able to comfortably be in there together.