First time buyer wanting advice....

(24 Posts)
user1480157310 Sat 26-Nov-16 11:14:01

I am 28 and desperate to buy a house. I am so sick of renting and living in the same crap conditions / uncertainty as I did when I was a student. I have dealt with rats, dodgy repairs and damp for 10 years now. Whilst paying out the teeth for it.

I'm hoping to get a house in the region of 120-170k, which i know is quite a big gap but its more to do with wanting somewhere at the lower end and seeing the odd bargain appear on Zoopla whilst wanting to remain realistic.

I'm not bothered about having somewhere big, I just want a bit more stability in life and the ability to own a cat, ha.I would go for a flat but where I live most of them are new build so are actually similar prices to 3 bed terrace houses and I worry about the ability to sell it in 10 years if I want somewhere larger. I would eventually like a garden as well and I worry that a flat would just feel temporary and I would want to move again within 5 years.

I am in the unusual situation (I think?) of having a large amount of cash available as deposit but quite low wage and being single income, no kids. 19k income , 60k deposit. I am hoping to get a payrise in Feb to be closer to 25k. I expect my wage to rise quite a bit after this as I'm in a training role but with the way the economy is...

My mother is able to help me with the deposit which would add another 15k and my Grandpa will help me cover costs like furniture (Im thinking like £2000?)

I am aware there are solicitors fees and I assume fees to setup a mortgage etc and maybe stamp duty if I buy at the higher end of my budget, but i'm not sure realistically how much these are , and how much I should leave aside for this.