Talk

Advanced search

help with new kitchen - we don't know what to do!

(8 Posts)
Middleageddebauchery Sun 02-Oct-16 08:47:08

hello

first post on mumsnet for a very very long time - but having looked at this topic a few times there seems to be loads of good advice so I'm hoping some can come my way!

DH and I are getting a new kitchen - for me its the first one I've ever planned and bought myself and I am a very keen cook so its a really big deal. We have quite a big kitchen / living room which is the main room in our house so we really want to get it right.

Budget is about 10-15k. We're looking at an L-shaped kitchen plus an island.

We went to Howdens and got a quote for the Tewkesbury range which was £9500. I think that's a lot, but more importantly I wasn't really sure that I particularly liked it. It just looked a bit meh.

We want a painted kitchen but not in the usual cream / pebble options - DH and I are looking for something darker or possibly quite <ahem> vibrant. (He wants some doors to be orange...)

Obviously with our budget we can't afford full on bespoke painted stuff - but I've found a few sites online that seem to be almost unbelievably cheap. has anybody used Handmadekitchens direct or the shaker kitchen company? Are they any good?

We are in Scotland so nowhere near any of the showrooms... sigh...

All the options that there seem to be up here in terms of showrooms (howdens/ magnet / benchmarx) all seem to have pretty much the same styles, none of which are quite right.

With our budget am I just kidding myself?

Hufflepuffin Sun 02-Oct-16 12:03:23

Have you looked at the DIY kitchens range? People seem to rate them!

namechangedtoday15 Sun 02-Oct-16 12:41:30

I have used DIY Kitchens and very recently unitsonline. I have spent an inordinate amount of time on kitchen websites and in showrooms and couldn't be happier with my current kitchen. Would recommend both companies.