Viewing a property with an offer already accepted by the vendors

(74 Posts)
TurquoiseDress Thu 23-Jun-16 16:23:24

We viewed a property at the weekend, is within our budget and the area we would like to live in.

That evening, I contacted the vendors & asked for a second viewing this weekend coming.

A couple of days later I noticed that the property was now listed as "under offer" on Rightmove.

When I got back in touch with the vendors, they admitted that they had accepted an offer but were more than happy for us to come back for a viewing.

I'm completely new to this property buying game, so please bear with me.

To my mind, if they've accepted an offer that's kind of it, isn't it?
I guess they want us to view again, so that we hopefully offer & then they can decide whether ours is better than the one they already have on the table.

Is this normal practice to have a property under offer but viewings are still going ahead?

If it was me & I'd had my offer accepted on a property, I'd be quite annoyed if the vendors continued to have viewings & possibly reject my offer later down the line.

So, forgive my stupidity, but is this how the property game works?!

OhNoNotMyBaby Thu 23-Jun-16 16:26:27

Yes, it's how it works. The vendors are obviously hoping to get a better offer, which is why the house is only 'under offer' and not 'sold'. The prospective buyers should be aware of the fact that their offer is only 'under consideration' so I wouldn't worry about it too much. If you like it, and want to pay more for it than the other buyers have offered, go ahead.

bonjovigirl Thu 23-Jun-16 16:30:37

It might be that the house is 'under offer' while the buyers get their paperwork (proof of funds, mortgage agreement) together, hence why it is still being marketed? Guess it's ok if all parties know that is going on. Still, would make me nervous about the vendor if they are still entertaining viewings while I think my offer is accepted.

fieldfare Thu 23-Jun-16 16:32:53