Is £1600 quote valid to install a shower?

(7 Posts)
Preeti19 Tue 14-Jun-16 13:38:53

Hello Mumsnet members,

I've a bath tub that has standard taps with tilings done just above the tub (not full height).

I'd like to get a new thermostatic shower installed for which I need: complete plumbing work (behind walls, etc.), new shower, glass door that will sit above the bath tub, full height tiling - so that walls are safe.

I've got a quote from on service provider that sums up to £1600. They will provide new shower, Merlyn MB3B bath screen, full height tiling to full shower area and any water pipe-line work required, plus, 2 year warranty.

I've got another quote from other service on call and they said somewhere around £1200-£1400.

I tried to contact other service but most of them want me to pay small fee so that they can visit my place to check everything. I've never done this before and have no idea about the cost range.

Is the price range (£1200-1600) valid for this work in the market?

Pradaqueen Wed 15-Jun-16 05:51:07

Where are you in the UK? Sounds expensive but they are managing everything I guess. I would do some research on the cost of the brands used and decide if it's a fair mark up. Tiling cost is usually charged per metre. Do not pay any potential contractor for a quote the cost of which which is not redeemable against booking the job.

Preeti19 Wed 15-Jun-16 09:41:13

My house is in Aylesham, Kent. This is a quote from the builder for my new build house. The standard without extra charge includes bathtub with half tiling done.

The £1600 is for the upgrade option which will give, full height tiling (£300), new shower with holder that will be attached to the wall, Meryln MB3B glass door (£430).

I've tried to contact others to get quote but they want to assess it first, which is not possible as the build isn't ready yet!