Talk

Advanced search

Moving to Brighton/Hove

(12 Posts)
crazyhead Thu 12-May-16 14:50:38

Me and DH and kids (DS4 and DS2) are weighing up a move to Hove or Brighton - not necessarily immediately, but he could work there in the future and family are fairly close. We were going to spend a weekend down there in June and look around.

What are the nicest areas in terms of near the sea, local amenities, schools? And what do you need in terms of budget? (for say a 4 bed house with garden)

Thank you!

Equimum Thu 12-May-16 20:25:29

Okay, I'm not an expert on this, but we do live in the area. I won't comment too much on schools, as this is a very touchy subject locally, which I am not well informed about. All I do know, is that you basically need to buy on top of the best schools (primary) to get in. Now the lottery systems for secondary allocations has been altered, the Blakers Park/ Five-Ways area is probably very desirable, and an area I love - wide avenues, green spaces, beautiful houses and near to a very good primary (Downs) and some of the more popular secondaries.
It is inland, and away from the town centre, but not ridiculously so, and the bus service is good (this applies across the city, but buses are pricey). We've looked at this area a few times and it's not cheap. My friend's childhood home, a nice 4 bed with smallish garden is currently for sale at around £700k. There are cheaper options, but realistically, £550+.

I also really like the Queen's Park area, which is a small bit between Hanover, Elm Gove & Kemp Town. I used to live there and it's <10 minute walk to the sea, 15 minute walk to town etc, and there are some nice primaries. This is more 'town' though, and gardens tend to be smaller etc. It's pretty arty area, and Hanover has a nice family scene. Some 4 beds start from £450k+, but the nicer streets tend to be more/ rarely available.