how much less do you offer for a house?

(39 Posts)
Blue2014 Tue 29-Dec-15 20:46:44

I've seen a house I LOVE for offers over £280,000 but really it's £10,000 over budget. It doesn't need any work (there is scope to develop it but nothing that needs to be done)

I asked the estate agent if they had other offers or viewing (she was new, all she knows is no offers or viewing in the last month) it's been on the market since September 2015 (not that long in that area) also asked if there was room for negotiation in the price - she contacted them and said it would be worth putting in a reasonable offer ...

I've never done this before - what's a reasonable offer?? I love it and don't want to piss them off but I also don't want to pay the asking price and it would screw me over financially

What should I offer?

(house is in north of England - don't want to link to it as I've shown everyone I know about it and I may out myself!)

EssentialHummus Tue 29-Dec-15 20:58:56

I'm firmly in the camp of "If your first offer doesn't embarrass you, it's not low enough". I've not seen it (obviously) but if it was worth £280k and had been on the market for a while, my first offer would be £259k or so. I'd expect this to be rejected and would then go in with a higher revised offer. Can be nail-biting but has worked for us (in London!).

Blue2014 Tue 29-Dec-15 21:06:25

Ah that theory certainly makes sense! Got to be brave ... Got to be brave ....

poocatcherchampion Wed 30-Dec-15 16:52:21

I'd go £265. Give yourself some leeway

madwomanacrosstheroad Wed 30-Dec-15 16:54:25

I would offer 250 -you can always go up

DrGoogleWillSeeYouNow Wed 30-Dec-15 16:58:18

I'd offer £255.

wowfudge Wed 30-Dec-15 17:23:36

This thread has given me a sense of deja vu! I'm almost certain there was the same thing asked a couple of weeks ago; the figures are even the same IIRC.