Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

What order should I do up my new house in? HELP!

(16 Posts)
bangbangprettypretty Tue 03-Nov-15 21:04:25

DH and I are about to complete on our first home - we have been renting for YEARS - both in our early 30s.

Now the house is, to put it mildly, a work-in-progress. It'll need new carpet throughout, redecorating through, new bathroom (and eventually new kitchen).

I have no idea where to start, but would:

Bathroom
Redecorate
Carpeting
Kitchen

Work? We'd also like to put new fireplaces in but that'll have to be when we can afford it...

We are total, total beginners so no advice is too basic! We could stay with friends for a few weeks if it's better to just do it before we actually move in.

ToadsforJustice Tue 03-Nov-15 21:22:32

We had a wreck of a house years ago. I don't know the size of your budget. We had less than £500 when moved!

To start:-

scrub the house from top to bottom
clean the carpets
check for decent floorboards or tiles
paint every wall/ceiling white - you need to live in house for a time to discover light or dark rooms
you can live with an old fashioned bathroom/kitchen for now
don't change walls or rip anything out straight away - get the feel of your house
use a spare room for all your tools and paint -close the door every night so you can't see the mess
don't spend every night and weekend renovating - you will lose focus
do one room at a time to stop your house feeling like a building site
we did the sitting room first - it's the room you will spend most time awake and relaxing - especially after a day at work

As you save money - decide on a project and see it to the end. If you start your kitchen - finish it before you move on.

Good luck. smile

Karcheer Tue 03-Nov-15 21:33:09

I would definitely do one room so that you have an oasis to escape too when the rest of the house is in turmoil.
New Kitchens and bathrooms cost a lot and make a huge mess.
The hall and carpets should be done last.