Talk

Advanced search

Annie Sloane or is there a simple (cheaper!) alternative?

(16 Posts)
Ipanema01 Wed 28-Oct-15 14:37:32

I have a huge wooden chest of drawers that I'm going to attempt to paint white and change the knobs on this weekend and I've noticed lots of fans of Annie Sloan chalk paint on here.

Is it super easy to use, and how much wax do you get through? The chest is approx 160x95 and I'm not sure how much paint and wax to buy.

I'm not good at DIY so I basically want to do it in the simplest way possible!

Has anyone ever used any wax other than AS and been successful?

bessiebumptious2 Wed 28-Oct-15 14:53:46

One tin of AS Old White will cover it. You can water AS paint down quite a lot as well - I find I get a better finish by doing that and painting more than one coat. Unless you like the thick paint shabby chic look in which case don't water it down. The longer you leave the lid off the paint tin whilst you're working, the more the paint thickens - just be aware (so if you water it down and it's too thin, leave the lid off for half a day).

You can use any clear wax - doesn't have to be AS. Briwax is good but again, I'd do more than one coat as it offers more protection (I use this). It takes a good month for the wax to truly cure and harden.

One thing to be aware of tho if you're using chalk paint. It doesn't take kindly to having things like hot cups or wet glasses put on it as it marks easily (which is why a few coats of wax is sensible). On the positive side, it's easy to whip out the tin and recoat at anytime, even over the top of pre-existing wax.

Hope this helps.

bessiebumptious2 Wed 28-Oct-15 14:55:29

Oh, and one tin of wax will be more than enough. You won't get through it all on one chest of drawers! Spread it fairly thinly - if you over load your cloth (or brush) it's really hard to rub down to a shine afterwards.

ohidoliketobe Wed 28-Oct-15 14:58:06

Absolutely everything bessie has said!!