Talk

Advanced search

Logistics of getting new house cleaned on moving day

(11 Posts)
Heslomonik Sun 01-Feb-15 21:18:49

Hi, I'm new to mumsnet (or to any discussion forums for that matter) but I'm getting myself stressed about the prospect of moving house, so thought I might alleviate some of my worries here! I read forum threads quite a lot, and usually get most of my answers that way, but this time I just can't seem to get the answers I need...

Anyway, we're aiming to move house over the next few weeks, but our new house didn't look superbly clean when we viewed it, and it smelt very strongly of curry! I was thinking it would be a good idea to get the house professionally (deep?) cleaned on moving day but wasn't sure how this would work practically speaking? I imagine as soon as we get the keys for the new house, the removal men will be bringing all the furniture/boxes in straight away and so we'd have lost the opportunity to get the house cleaned before its stuffed to the gills with our junk for ever more. Also the removal men might find that the cleaner is getting under their feet. And how would you know what time to tell the cleaner to arrive as I often hear stories of keys being released very late in the day, and so the cleaner might arrive before we can even get into the house?

On a slightly different note, it looks as if we'll need to buy new fridge/freezer, washing machine and dishwasher for the new house as they're not being left by the current owners. Our own white goods aren't really worth the hassle of moving as they're pretty old and ropey. With two young DCs, I don't want to be without a washing machine and dishwasher for too long, so is it possible to order new ones in advance of moving and then get the store to deliver them to the new house on moving day? Or is that too risky given we might not know what time we'll be in the house by? Is this something you might arrange for the following day perhaps?