Talk

Advanced search

Heating off but radiators hot?

(11 Posts)
rubybleu Mon 22-Dec-14 09:05:58

Before I call in an engineer - last night when we turned the heating off, it didn't/wouldn't turn off despite manually doing so. It ended up running all night. We have a condensing boiler with a hot water tank and storage tank. Boiler was installed in January 14 by the previous owners of our flat.

When my other half took a shower this morning, it appeared to to turn off but fired back up when he finished. I've just had a fiddle with the Honeywell controls near the boiler and turned the hot water off and on manually which seems to have solved the problem.

I am new to central heating (grew up in Australia) so does this sound like a controls fault and if so, who do I call? Can a gas engineer sort this out?

LL12 Mon 22-Dec-14 09:18:38

May be wrong but it sounds like your diverter valve may need a new motor.

rubybleu Mon 22-Dec-14 09:37:51

Silly question - where might the diverter valve be located?

Thurlow Mon 22-Dec-14 09:41:54

I agree, we had this a few years back and whenever the hot water came on it sent it through the radiators as well. I don't think it's something that you can fix yourself as you need to actually replace a part, but I think it's quite standard.

LL12 Mon 22-Dec-14 12:38:57

It's normally a small square silver box near your pump with a little leaver underneath it.
We had this issue a few years ago and my plumber uncle said to unscrew the cover and replace the motor which was a little round silver thing with 2 wires coming from it.
We took a picture of it before removing it so that we could just copy the re wireing with the new one. The motor cost about £18.

LL12 Mon 22-Dec-14 12:41:11