Talk

Advanced search

Does anyone know anything about flooding?

(9 Posts)
genieg Mon 03-Nov-14 13:35:15

There's a very small stream running along the front boundary (not on the property). We are buying a house and the environmental report has given the property a green rating for flood risk which means there should be no problem with insurance.

However it has a low to moderate risk of surface water flooding..which it describes as a 1 in 200 year rain event risk of 0-30cm flooding due to surface water.

It seems pretty minimal to me but the purchase has been one long headache and I'm getting worried that I'm willing to overlook anything to get the point where we move!

Is there anyone here who has any experience of this?

holeinmyheart Mon 03-Nov-14 14:55:16

I have extensive experience of flooding and my advice is do not go anywhere near a property that is near water. We moved into a house years ago that had a stream a field away.
With global warming , something that had a one in 50 years chance of flooding, has flooded every year since 1998. The EA have no money and although they are sympathetic they won't do anything as it only affects two houses.
If you buy this house the stream may well become a torrent through surface water. Also the EA are Gung Ho about their predictions.
The situation has rendered our house very difficult to sell. Ask about insurance as well as if your intended purchase is on a flood plain, then your insurance will be sky high.
Don't buy it!

Pufflemum Mon 03-Nov-14 15:05:32

We have recently pulled out of a property due to the same flood risk. Look at the weather last winter, places that have not flooded previously were under water for a month. Maybe this is the 1:200 year event but maybe not, we wouldn't take the risk and it is likely future purchasers of the property won't either.