Talk

Advanced search

Starting out on the kitchen journey

(8 Posts)
MotherBluestocking Wed 12-Feb-14 15:20:25

I am about to embark on the kitchen process, and have absolutely no idea where to start or how to go about it. We will be knocking down a small useless wall that I have been reliably informed isn't structural (though I gather I need to have it looked at by an engineer), putting down a new floor with underfloor heating, and installing new lighting as well as the kitchen units, work surface, an island, etc.
I am a complete and utter novice and desperately need advice. Budget is mid-range (I think) - not Plain English but not B+Q either. Most of all I need to know how many different people will need to be involved. Presumably I will need a builder to knock down the wall; but then if I go to (eg) John Lewis of Hungerford for the kitchen proper, will they do flooring, heating, lighting etc or do people like that just do cabinetry, appliances and work surfaces? What about fiddling with services? - am not planning anything major here, but obviously some work will be needed.
I realise these will seem massively dumb questions but I'm completely clueless on this. Very very grateful for any help!

oif Wed 12-Feb-14 21:44:42

We did a kitchen as part of an extension and we had the following involved:
Architect - plans, structural stuff and checking builders were delivering what they'd been contracted for
Builder - knocking walls down, building and installing kitchen, and laying flooring
Electricians (who were recommended to us from the builder) - Lighting
Plumber - Underfloor heating (we had a wet system installed)

I think it will depend to a large extent on your builders and what they are experienced in - you may find someone who can do the wall, the kitchen fitting and the floors, or you might find different people for all these jobs.