Talk

Advanced search

Can I get the house valued without DH being here?

(10 Posts)
Mckayz Sun 09-Feb-14 10:07:58

The house is all in DHs name as he bought it before we met. We need a bigger house and so are looking to put ours on the market soon.

However DH works abroad and isn't due home until the middle of March.

So I wondered if I can get it valued without him if it is in his name?

I know pretty much nothing about buying and selling houses.

Thanks.

MadIsTheNewNormal Sun 09-Feb-14 10:09:06

Yes you can but you cannot put it on the market without agreement from all parties who have a share in its ownership.

orangepudding Sun 09-Feb-14 10:10:33

Yes you can. I arranged for the agents to value the house, negotiated the fees and took all calls regarding viewings and offers. I don't think DH had any contact with the agents other than signing the contract.

sillymillyb Sun 09-Feb-14 10:13:39

I used to be an estate agent and would have happily valued for you not your Dh. His signature will be needed for the contract though.

I'd recommend getting at least 3 agents out to value, ask them their fees, never make a decision there and then as to which agent to go with as you may find if you leave it a few days they alter their pricing smile

Mckayz Sun 09-Feb-14 10:31:49

Thanks, that is brilliant. It'll give us something to go on when he does get home.

MadIsTheNewNormal Sun 09-Feb-14 10:43:15

Also, don't agree to sign away a full twelve weeks (or whatever the contract says) with no option to go elsewhere if you are not happy with them. Perhaps agree on 4-6 weeks. You can make any amendments to a contract that you like - it doesn't have to be cast in stone. If they don't like it, go with someone else.

TunipTheUnconquerable Sun 09-Feb-14 11:02:37

Yes, you don't have to sign anything to get them to come and value.

Mckayz Sun 09-Feb-14 12:57:40