Talk

Advanced search

Family Friendly Areas with 30' commute to Central London?

(9 Posts)
Sunnybee12 Fri 24-May-13 23:24:34

Hi ladies,

We are a family of three, our baby is under one, and we are looking to relocate somewhere close to South West London, or London. Ideally we'd like a 3 bed house with a garden, we have a budget of 400K.

The problem I have is that I am a consultant and and I never know where my next project will be, so the location needs to have excellent transport links.

Any advice you could give me about family friendly locations in or near SW London with good schools will be very much appreciated /emo/te/1.gif

BettyandDon Fri 24-May-13 23:41:24

I think you may need to be quite far out from SW London with the budget. We are in Richmond which is fabulous for families / schools and great links to london or LHR but the cheapest I have seen 3 bed houses go for is about £540k and that was an ex-Council house. Tiny 2 bed cottages with postage stamp gardens and no parking are £500k.

Friends in Guildford (also lovely and well connected and further out) bought a lovely 3 bed w small garden near centre for £520k. Local schools were so oversubscribed they do not have a school place yet despite being 300m away from nearest.

I think you may need to play the size vs location game.

GreatBags Sun 26-May-13 22:57:03

You'd get a fabulous house in Haslemere for your budget. This is at the top end: www.rightmove.co.uk/property-for-sale/property-38954593.html
But it is 50 minutes from Waterloo...

monkeytennismum Mon 27-May-13 07:59:23

Could it be SE London? Much more house for your money there.

sillyoldfool Mon 27-May-13 08:02:01

How about NW? Pinner and surrounding areas are lovely, with tube connections straight to kings x on the met line.

Fiddlestickler Mon 27-May-13 09:31:57

Look at places along the Euston to Northampton train line - trains to Euston in 30 minutes and houses in really nice areas for less than half what they'd be inside the m25.