Talk

Advanced search

Corner house - moving front door to the other road

(13 Posts)
cantmakecarrotcake Sat 13-Apr-13 20:40:03

We're considering buying a house on a corner plot. The gable end faces Road A, which is the house's address. Currently the 'front' door is on the side of the house. We would want to reconfigure the inside, including relocating the front door to the other side of the house. In doing so access would be from Road B.

What is the council likely to say when we apply for planning permission to do the work? Is there an issue with having the front door on a different road to the house's address? Would we need to/could we change the address?

I'm sure someone out there has either done it or works in planning. Thanks in advance.

Yorky Sun 14-Apr-13 07:48:23

I have no experience of this, but our front door (and all the ones on our street) is at the back of the house, facing onto a footpath. I think they were designed just to pull the car into the back garden from the actual address street iyswim.
We are currently building an extension and adding a porch to the back door but planning never questionned it. Will leave the letterbox where it is though

Jaynebxl Sun 14-Apr-13 07:51:41

Which side is your garden gate on, out of interest? Or would you move that too? I'd have thought changing the address would be unnecessary as the house itself won't have moved.

magimedi Sun 14-Apr-13 14:07:05

I would think you would just need to alert the Post Office, so as not to confuse the postie. Can't see why council would object.

auntpetunia Sun 14-Apr-13 14:10:29

My friends house is like this whole front of house on one road and door on side road, she just has a sign …16 blogs Avenue by the front gate which is also on the side road. Doesn't seem to cause any problem.

AliceWChild Sun 14-Apr-13 14:30:34