Talk

Advanced search

The single best (cheap/free) thing to do before home report/put on market?

(18 Posts)
MummyOfSunbeam Fri 12-Apr-13 15:34:24

Hello! Property newbie here w question re preparing to sell. We have lived in this, our first house, for three years. Unexpectedly had a lovely DD come along (7 mths today) and wd like to move somewhere a bit different w her in mind (a safer outdoor play area, better schools etc).

We have NO money to renovate unfortunately and hardly any time to even tidy up - house is chaotic w baby things! But I know it is vital to do what you can. (We have enough for legal fees/move but that's it really, especially since I am not back from maternity leave yet. But we would like to start doing the house-preparing work now)

So - any tips on the single best cheap or free thing to do before that home report thing (we are in scotland) and putting on market?

I think we should do all we can before mat leave ends and we become rushing about working family....

soverylucky Fri 12-Apr-13 15:35:53

Message withdrawn at poster's request.

Pootles2010 Fri 12-Apr-13 15:36:05

Tidy up. Make time. Work through the night if you must.

It really makes the difference, its a tough market atm and you really have to sell it.

ivehadaverybadday Fri 12-Apr-13 15:36:55

A friend of mine used to put everything in her car before viewings, worked for her!

vitaminC Fri 12-Apr-13 15:37:03

De-clutter! Go for the most minimalistic look you can achieve!

MummyOfSunbeam Fri 12-Apr-13 16:15:27

Wow it really is tidying and decluttering that matters then. How on earth do people sell a house when have a small baby! Eek.

We will just have to whittle away bits at a time I think --

DewDr0p Fri 12-Apr-13 16:39:59

I agree with pp's. Have been looking at houses online and I can't believe how cluttered so many of them are. It's really distracting, sometimes I feel like I can't see the actual house for the clutter iykwim?