Talk

Advanced search

Radiator in bedroom not working at all

(15 Posts)
RedHelenB Wed 26-Sep-12 12:12:08

Just wondered if anyone new likely reasons & possible solutions as at the moment money is very tight. Tried bleeding it but it is stone cold all over. Other radiators working fine.

It's probably a valve, so water can't enter the rad. I had it happen a few times at my old house, but we had heating cover so an engineer came out and swapped it. Five minute job, so probably not hard to do if you can find a tutorial online smile

sparklingwine Wed 26-Sep-12 12:20:53

My dad has a radiator that does this and he hits the end pipes with a hammer and it solved it! Apparently a bit of stuff can get stuck in the valve/pipe and hitting it dislodges it.
Disclaimer- I have no plumbing experience!

RedHelenB Wed 26-Sep-12 17:47:30

Might try the hammer first lol!!!

Not sure if my british gas service agreement covers my radiators or not - will haver to look into it.

Thanks folks!!

purplewithred Wed 26-Sep-12 23:20:29

Definitely try the hammer, followed by googling stuck valve. (I'm obviously not a plumber)

PigletJohn Thu 27-Sep-12 00:26:38

turn off all the other rads and see if this one warms up.

has it got a thermostatic radiator valve?

what comes out when you bleed it?

is it by any chance the highest rad in the house?

how old is your heating sysyem, and does the boiler have a pressure gauge on it?

PigletJohn Thu 27-Sep-12 00:31:55

do you live in Cornwall?

Rattitude Thu 27-Sep-12 00:41:57

ooooh... quite intrigued by the Cornwall residence question...

RedHelenB Thu 27-Sep-12 04:33:53

Boiiler is 16 years old and not sure about the pressure gauge. It is on the same floor as other bedrooms & bathroom. Water came out when I bled it, no air sound like normal. And no I don't live in Cornwall.

PigletJohn Thu 27-Sep-12 06:40:42

Does it have a thermostatic radiator valve?

Brycie Thu 27-Sep-12 06:44:08