Talk

Advanced search

Where do I start looking for a new kitchen?

(7 Posts)
BieneMaja Thu 20-Sep-12 19:38:59

I've never done anything like this before, so I am really quite clueless. We need a new kitchen. Its not a large kitchen, but it needs re-fitting and probably new appliances as well.

I want it to look good and be reasonably sturdy, but it doesn't really need to be "fashionable" or state of the art. Sort of mid-range price perhaps?

Are there shops that do these things and fit them? Or do I have to buy the kitchen somewhere and get someone to fit it?

I really have no idea at all sad

I'm in Brighton if anyone knows of anyone who does this stuff...

BeatTheClock Thu 20-Sep-12 19:42:45

Have you looked at Wickes. Last one I had from there still looked good when we moved and was 18 yrs oldshock

Now we've moved we've just ordered another one from there although it's not fitted yet.

TracyIW Fri 21-Sep-12 09:37:24

Have a look at Scavolini. Italian kitchen suppliers. They supplied mine and I`m thrilled with it. Dont be put off by the website. It looks very exspensive but they do a few ranges that will undercut the likes of Howdens and Magnet because they dont add 50% on to have a sale. I know the Scavolini dealer on the Isle of Wight does regular trips to the mainland. They can do supply only or they can arrange the full installation.

Murtette Fri 21-Sep-12 16:29:57

I'm in this process at the moment. My strategy has been to:

- read through loads of old threads on this topic board to get ideas (for example, we're going for a couple of wall units which go down to the base unit (IYSWIM) which we'll put sockets at the back of & keep things like the Magimix in so we just have to pull them out to use them but they're otherwise hidden which I hadn't thought of until I read about it on here)